Skip to content

Understanding Tara Koota in Ashtakoota method.

  • by

Kundali matching has blessed several marriages throughout Hindu culture. Parents are relieved about their child’s marital life once Kundali matching is done. And why shouldn’t that be? 

Kundali matching has shown itself as one of the most effective tradition when it comes to marriage. The proof of its effectiveness surrounds us in the form of happy and fulfilling marriages. 

Astrologers make the use of Janam Kundali for calculating the compatibility. This Janam Kundali is formed based on the date of birth and time of birth. The astrologers can also make use of the individual’s Rashi name for checking compatibility. These calculations are done by considering various aspects of one’s personality and also of what a marriage should consist of.

Ashtakoota method.

This is the method that is most widely used for Kundali matching. Though there are many other methods available, most astrologers opt for this process as it covers all the important aspects of marriage and the couple’s personality.

As the name suggests, it comprises of ‘Ashta kootas,’ which when translated means eight aspects. Astrologers than compare the Kundalis of the two individual and calculate how much are they two compatible based on these areas. 

Related: Ashtakoota method: Points needed for a happy marriage.

The eight aspects of Ashtakoota method.

1) Varna – Compatibility of two individual in regards to their status and their social background. 

2) Vashya – Compatibility and connection of their emotions. 

3) Tara – This represents the level of luck and fortune the couple could find in their journey.

4) Maitri – This one focuses on predicting the bond between the two individuals, according to their different zodiac signs.

5) Gana – It is for focusing on the compatibility between the temper of the two individuals and how they would handle conflicts of a different kind. 

6) Yoni – This one checks and predicts the level of sexual desires and attraction that they can possibly experience in their relation. 

7) Rashi – Predicts the level of intimacy and the spiritual connection the two can experience. 

8) Nadi – This koota focuses on the health and genes of the individuals. It also helps in predicting the possibility of an offspring.  

About Tara Koota.

It is the third Koota that is considered in the Ashtakoota method. The term ‘Tara’ when translated means a star. But in Ashtakoota method, ‘Tara’ refers to the birth star of the individual. 

According to Vedic astrology, all of us are blessed with a birth star of our own. In this process of Kundali matching, the compatibility of the birth star of both the individuals is tried to predict and given a score. 

This koota represents the destiny of the couple. And this koota is divided into twenty-seven Nakshatras. All of these 27 Nakshatras are divided amongst nine groups and based on which group both the individuals fall in, the calculation is made. 

The nine groups of Tara Koota.

Janam Tara – This tara try is looked over to judge the longevity of the Couple’s marriage. 

Sampath Tara – The word Sampath can be vaguely referred to property. Thus it represents wealth, prosperity and property the couple might attain in their life.

Vipat Tara – Vipatti is a word that is often used to refer to unfortunate events. Hence this refers to the possibility of accidents or any other unfortunate event. Kshema Tara – This one also focuses on prosperity of the couple.

Prathiyak Tara – This one is considered to focus on the possibility of any hurdles in marital life. 

Sathaka Tara – This one assesses success.

Vadhai Tara – This one also assesses hurdles, any possible difficulties or obstacles. 

Maithra Tara – This one tries to predict how well the behaviour and traits of both the individual would complement that of each other.

Parama Maithra Tara – This assesses the success of the couple’s marriage and the compatibility between them.

Calculating Tara Koota.

Tara Koota is then calculated by counting the Nakshatra of both the individual. Whatever their score comes out to be, its remainder is divided by the number 9 to get the score. For any category, the highest that can be scored is 3.

In the situation when a remainder is an even number, the match receives green light for marriage. But when they receive an odd number, they receive zero scores and a red light for marriage. But when only one is even, the couple is given 1.5 points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.